关节炎

骨关节炎是一种退化性条件影响关节平稳,顺溜的纤维结缔组织,称之为关节软骨,其作用为骨骼之间的保护垫。关节炎是起因自软骨开始恶化,骨头之间的关节间隙变窄所成。随着时间的推移导致软骨变薄,变得沟槽和碎散。周围的骨骼顺应向外生长而成形。滑膜(能产生粘稠液体,帮助滋养软骨,并保持滑膜)变得红肿增厚。

它可生产额外的液体,造成关节肿胀。在严重的情况下,当关节软骨消失,增厚骨两端可以相互摩擦和磨损,这导致严重的疼痛和关节畸形。

关节炎是最常见的慢性肌肉骨骼病症,与年龄有相关联系。约20%的老年病人往往会忽略关节疼痛,严重甚至会导致残废。然而目前没有任何能控制或逆转骨关节炎的疗法。

在一般情况下,治疗方案可分为四个主要群体:锻炼健康; 药物疗法以缓解疼痛,葡糖胺或硫酸软骨素; 关节内注射和外科手术,如关节镜,截骨术,关节置换术和全膝关节置换,此保留为最严重的情况。较崭新的方法包括抽取患处的关节软骨细胞,然后在实验室进行培养增植,再移植到人体。但是此疗法的效果还未稳定。最新的疗法包括使用骨髓干细胞,分化成为软骨细胞,以便更有效的促进关节软骨的修复与再生。

对于某些因外伤,关节炎或其他软骨缺损的患者,已经疲于尝试了所有可用的治疗方案或采用不合格的疗程,甚至拒绝手术管道。Chondrocell® 能有助于改善疼痛和明显的促进软骨再生作用,使患处已退化的透明软骨重生,持续再关节注射特定诱导软骨生长因子及其它成分。能促进患处关节修复得更快速和自然。

研究显示,采用成熟软骨细胞移植,药物和关节注射疗法的相比之下,使用与Chondrocell® 相同细胞进行关节炎治疗能更有效的舒解疼痛及增强活动能力。成像分析证实,缺损软骨在植入手术后6个星期开始修复,并在12至24个星期完全康复。其功效持久,可延续进行关节置换术。

如果您的膝盖或髋骨关节面对严重疼痛及肿大,又甚至影响您的行动和生活素质,那么您也许就是Chondrocell®治疗的合适人选。

Osteoarthritis

Osteoarthritis is a degenerative condition affecting joints. A smooth, slippery, fibrous connective tissue, called articular cartilage, acts as a protective cushion between bones. Arthritis develops as the cartilage begins to deteriorate and the joint space between the bones marrows. With time the cartilage thins, becoming grooved and fragmented. The surrounding bones react by growing outward and form spurs. The synovium (a membrane that produces a thick fluid that helps nourish the cartilage and keep it slippery) becomes inflamed and thickened.

It may produce extra fluid, resulting in joint swelling. In severe cases, when the articular cartilage is gone, the thickened bone ends can rub against each other and wear away. This results in severe pain and deformity of the joint.

Arthritis is the most common chronic musculoskeletal disorder. As an age-related condition, about 20% of elderly patients suffer from OA and a significant portion of them are afflicted seriously enough to be considered disabled. There are currently no cures for this condition. Other cartilage defects can be due to trauma and gout.

In general, treatment options fall into four major groups: Health and exercise; drug therapies for pain relief, glucosamine and/or chondroitin sulfate; intra-articular injections; and surgery such as arthroscopy, osteotomy, arthroplasty and total knee replacement which are reserved for the most severe cases. Newer methods including taking out some mature cartilage cells from the affected joint, expanding them in a lab and transplanting them back but the results are not consistent. Latest methods consist of using bone marrow Mesenchymal Stem Cells (MSCs) to form immature cartilage cells for more effective regeneration and repair of articular cartilage.

For patient with osteoarthritis or other cartilage defects due to trauma and gout whom had exhausted all available treatment options and ineligible or refused surgery, Chondrocell® may help to improve pain and restore daily functions by generating new hyaline cartilage cells that are tensile and functional. This treatment, unlike preparations of cultured mature cartilage cells, have significantly more cartilage regeneration potential to restore hyaline cartilage which has degenerated at the site of a patient's affected joint.

In studies using cells identical to Chondrocell® for OA compared to mature cartilage cell implants, medicines and joint injections, patients benefited from pain relief and greater mobility. Imaging studies showed healing of the cartilage defect as early as 6 weeks post-implantation and complete healing by 12 to 24 weeks. The effects were long-lasting and the need for joint replacements could be deferred.

Generally if you are experiencing severe pain and swelling of your knee or hip joint that is limiting your mobility and quality of life, then you may be eligible for Chondrocell® treatment.