间质干细胞的来源

脐带间质干细胞

脐带本身就是干细胞的丰富来源,脐带瓦顿氏凝胶蕴含珍贵的间质干细胞。间质干细胞经证实具有更广阔的应用前景,因为它比起造血干细胞具有更强大的增殖能力和多向分化潜能。它不仅可分化成骨骼细胞、心脏细胞、神经细胞、角膜细胞、脂肪细胞和软骨细胞等多种细胞的能力,也可用于修复相关器官。间质干细胞亦可被用于治疗干细胞移植后发生的移植物抗宿主病。间质干细胞可通过实验室培养成造血干细胞,实现将脐带血干细胞移植至成体。若与造血干细胞同时使用,间质干细胞还可加强造血干细胞移植。

骨髓

骨髓已被确认能通过骨髓穿刺术(BMA)从成体采集干细胞的最佳来源之一。低风险及低侵入性骨髓穿刺术是一种低风险、低侵入性的手术,通常从后髋骨直接抽取骨髓。若从骨髓采集存在于骨松质的间质干细胞,整个手术过程仅需半天时间完成,而且只在背部留下一个小又不明显的疤痕。所采集的间质干细胞将被带回实验室进行处理和分化。

脂肪(脂肪组织)

脂肪组织已证实含有间质干细胞。这类型的间质干细胞可通过抽脂术进行采集。一般在抽取后即被丢弃的脂肪将被带回实验室进行间质干细胞分离和分化。目前医学界正对脂肪间质干细胞治疗多种疾病的潜能进行调查研究,这类间质干细胞适用于美容。

牙髓

牙髓间质干细胞存在于牙齿的牙髓组织,亦称为牙髓干细胞。若要采集牙髓组织,必须先收集通过矫正手术拔除的智慧齿或自然脱落的牙齿(这类牙齿拔除后通常被丢弃),再从中抽取和储存,以备未来之需。在其它选项从缺的情况下,牙髓干细胞即可从儿童,也可从成人的牙齿中采集,提供了即简易安全又负担得起的多重机会。

Sources of Mesenchymal Stem Cells

Umbilical Cord

The umbilical cord itself is a rich source of stem cells, where its Wharton’s Jelly holds precious Mesenchymal Stem Cells (MSCs). These stem cells have been found to be very promising as it has beneficial properties that Hematopoietic Stem Cells (HSCs) may have restrictions in. MSCs have the ability to differentiate into bone, heart, nerve, cornea, fat and cartilage cells, and has been used for repairs of these organs. MSCs can also be used to treat GVHD after stem cell transplant. In the lab, it can be used to expand HSCs to make umbilical cord blood stem cells transplant available even to adults. Besides, MSCs also improve engraftment of HSCs when used together.

Bone Marrow

The bone marrow has been identified as one of the best sources of harvesting stem cells from adults, through Bone Marrow Aspiration (BMA). The BMA process is a low-risk, invasive procedure usually performed on the back of the hip bone. MSCs that reside in the spongy bone are extracted from the bone marrow, where the half-day procedure leaves a very small, negligible scar on the back. The MSCs are then brought back to the laboratory to be processed and expanded..

Adipose Tissue

It has been found that adipose tissue (fat tissue) contains MSCs. These MSCs are ideally harvested during liposuction, where instead of discarding the fat collected, the fat is brought back to the laboratory for MSCs isolation and expansion. Although the adipose-derived MSCs are currently investigated to treat a multitude of diseases, they are particularly suited for cosmetic indications.

Tooth Pulp

Tooth-derived Mesenchymal Stem Cells, also known as dental pulp stem cells, can be found in the pulp tissue within a tooth. Pulp tissues can be retrieved from extracted teeth collected via your arranged wisdom tooth removals via orthodontic surgeries and also from naturally fallen teeth, where they are usually discarded as wastes, to store for future use. It offers simple, safe, and affordable with multiple opportunities to collect stem cells from children and adults when other alternatives are lacking.